Primary(6 Years to 12 Years)

The Primary years programme for student’s age 6-12 focuses on the development of the whole child, not only in the classroom but also in the wider world. It offers a framework that meets children’s needs: academic, social, physical, emotional and cultural.

At the core of the Primary curriculum are five essential elements: knowledge, concepts, skills, attitudes and action. The aim of the curriculum is to incorporate these five elements in helping the child gain a holistic understanding of a body of knowledge in the following learning areas:

  • Maths
  • Language
  • Natural Science
  • Technology
  • Afrikaans
  • Economic and Management Sciences
  • Arts and Culture
  • Montessori Cultural ( History & Geography)
  • Life skills
  • Computer Literacy
  • Sports
  • Music


Skills in various codes ie. Soccer, cricket, athletics, softball, etc. are taught in the Sports lesson. These are reinforced in coaching sessions after school. Team Spirit, leadership qualities and social skills are also developed by interaction at Inter-House or Inter-School level.


Music skills; such as rhythm, timing, instrument playing are developed in this session. The child gains an appreciation for music and an “ear” for aspects of music.


The child is exposed to working with various programmes on tablets and also develops basic knowledge in its operation Concepts taught in the environment are further reinforced with suitable programmes.